top of page

HISTORY

History

In 1946, a group of keen cricketers, weary from the war and of the custom that sport was not played on a Sunday, determined to change things for the better.  They formed the club with the objective of playing the great game in the manner of W.G Grace,  that is hard, but as gentlemen, not afraid to enjoy themselves on and off the field. 


One day in search of a ground, they took a No 414 Green Line omnibus. Pausing to slake their thirsts at the Red Lion Hotel in Betchworth, they spotted the vacant area behind the pub, which had been used by the Canadian Army as a lorry park and which, according to the older members, had been where the Surrey Sevens Cricket Club had played before the war. Despite the rough and unkempt sight, they chose this as their home ground and after considerable efforts, the first match was played - on a matting wicket.


This established a home ground and also, due to the journey undertaken, a name for the club was agreed - The Reigate Pilgrims.


These proved to be happy choices. Following many years of hard work, the pitch provides an excellent wicket, with a slope that not only gives some advantage to the home side, but also helps the victors, the defeated and the thirsty on their 'pilgrimage' to the bar of the hostelry at the end of the game. 

And so the club has prospered to this day.  Visitors such as Worcestershire CC, who played testimonial matches in the 1950's, well known wandering sides, such as the Buccaneers and many famous touring sides have enjoyed the unique atmosphere and the hospitality of the members.  The club continues to play only friendly cricket and with a few exceptions, only on a Sunday. The occasional away match is played and tours occur at spontaneous intervals to the Channel Islands, the West Country and India 

bottom of page